# **Meeting Minutes**

#### Call to order

A meeting of **District 15 Republican Party** was held at the Memorial Building in Devils Lake on February 24, **2024**, **at 10 am**. Meeting was called to order by Chair Jason Pierce at 10:12 a.m.

#### Attendees

Present: Jason Pierce, Amy Lee, Jeff Kenner, Renae Ahlberg, Kathy Frelich, Pat Burckhard, Chris Berg, Curt Berg, Theresa Deckert, Judy Estenson, Dennis Miller. Not Present: Joe Gleason, Dennis Johnson, Dave Ohelke, Greg Weston

### Approval of minutes

Discussion and approval of Jan. 30th meeting took place.

#### Reports

No treasury report

#### Motion

Motion: Moved by Dennis Miller to approve the agenda. Chris Berg seconded the motion. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Paul Henderson to cease nominations and approve nominations for the reorganization. Curtis Berg seconded the motion. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Desiree Caduff and seconded by Steve Ames to accept the delegate list. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Kathy Frelich to elect Val Carlson for the secretarial position. Pat Burckhard seconded the motion. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Paul Henderson to nominate Kent Weston as District 15 Senator. Espen Dalgliesh seconded the nomination. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Theresa Deckert to nominate Donna Henderson as District 15 House of Representative. Rosemary Ames seconded the nomination. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

Motion: Moved by Mike Frelich to nominate Kathy Frelich as District 15 House of Representative. Pat Burckhard seconded the nomination. The motion carried with unanimous in favor.

#### New Business

Reorganization took place because of the recent redistricting order. Chair Jason Pierce announced the individuals running for officer positions. Chairman: Jason Pierce, 1st Vice Chair: Amy Lee, 2nd Vice Chair: Jeff Kenner, Secretary: Val Carlson, Treasurer: Desiree Caduff, At Large: Theresa Deckert, Curt Berg, Chris Berg, Pat Burckhard, and Paul Henderson.

All executive officer positions were confirmed with unanimous votes.

Delegation numbers for the upcoming Republican convention were discussed. Our District is allowed 43 delegates. A registration fee of \$150 is due along with the \$50 membership fee and it must be submitted by March 15, 2024. The North Dakota Republican Party will host its 2024 convention from April 5 to 6 at the Sanford Health Athletic Complex on the North Dakota State University campus in Fargo. Chairman Jason Pierce read the list of delegates and asked if anymore were interested. Taylor Berg and Ariel Henderson have volunteered to be pages at the upcoming state convention.

Candidates running for the upcoming 2024 election who were in attendance were given the opportunity to speak. Superintendent of Public Instruction: Jason Heitkamp JasonHeitkamp4ND.com, JasonHeitkamp4ND@gmail.com Jim Bartlett barlettspi.org

North Dakota's at large congressional district: Alex Ballazs, Tom Campbell <u>tomcampbellfornd.com</u>, Rick Becker <u>rickbecker2024.com</u>

RNC National Committee Woman: Lori Hinz lorihinz@protonmail.com

National Committeeman: Shane Goettle goettles@gmail.com

Public Service Commissioner: Randy Cristmann randychristmann.com

State Auditor: Josh Gallion joshgallion.com (not present speech was read by Jeff Hinz)

Paul Henderson gave a nominating speech for Kent Weston running for District 15 Senator seat. Judy Estenson endorsed Kent Weston and said thank you to the people of District 15 for supporting her this past year. Espen Dalgliesh seconded the nomination. The motion was carried with unanimous in favor. Kent Weston accepted the nomination and introduced himself to the members of District 15.

Theresa Deckert member at large nominated Donna Henderson to the District 15 House of Representatives. Rosemary Ames seconded the nomination. The motion was carried with unanimous in favor. Donna Henderson accepted the nomination and introduced herself to the members of District 15.

Mike Frelich gave a nominating speech for Kathy Frelich for House of Representatives for District 15. Pat Burckhard seconded the nomination. The motion was carried with unanimous in favor. Kathy accepted the nomination and spoke about her time serving this past year for District 15.

The upcoming Presidential Caucus was discussed. The Presidential Caucus will take place on March 4, 2024 from 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. It will be held in Devils Lake, ND at the Memorial Building. The District is in need of at least 3 more volunteers to help out on the day of the event.

Donna Henderson asks for resolutions to be submitted to her email before the deadline which is Monday February 26, 2024. <u>dhenderson@ndlegis.gov</u>

#### Announcements

Dennis Johnson member of the North Dakota House of Representatives from the 15th District, serving since 1992 has announced his retirement. Chairman Jason Pierce thanks him for his service to our state and district and wishes God's Blessings on him and his wife.

## Adjournment

Jason Pierce adjourned the meeting at 12:48 pm.

Renae Ahlberg Secretary

Date of approval

4/25/2024

Signed By

Jason Pierce District 15 Chairman